We admitted we were powerless over our addiction to anger and fear

America needs to get into recovery and it starts here.

If you’re familiar with the Twelve Steps, you know Step One: “We admitted we were powerless over our addiction to _________________.”

The other day, I was thinking about what it would be like to run for office on a centrist/unity platform. This seems like something that would work. After all, Americans claim to be fed up with the extreme antics of both parties.

As I thought about running on that centrist/unity platform, however, I concluded that it would not work.

Why?

Because Americans are addicted to anger and fear.

And anger and fear are the rocket fuel that propel political ambitions.

I don’t have a Gallup poll or scientific study to prove my point.

I know, however, how angry I get when I read the news. Sometimes my anger borders on outrage.

And I’m the guy who is constantly preaching “blessed are the peacemakers” and things like that. If I, of all people, can succumb to blind rage at the sight of 140 characters…

Politicians aren’t guilty for the state of politics in America. They merely identify what arouses passion and moves voters to act on their behalf. They don’t make us afraid and angry; they see that we’re already afraid and angry. They see how much we like to be angry (because it helps us feel more in control in the face of our fears).

So they give us what we want: More reasons to be more angry.

And we eat it up.

We are hooked on outrage.

So if we want things to change, we need to start at Step One (me included): Admit that we are powerless over our addiction to anger and fear.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

The morning after

It’s morning in America. November 9, 2016, to be exact. I just saw the news (and I don’t need to tell you what news I’m talking about). My four-year old son, Daniel, has the croup. I went to bed early expecting to be up a few times... Continue →