We are in the valley of the shadow of death

Roger_Fenton_-_Shadow_of_the_Valley_of_Death.jpg

The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

Psalm 23:1-4

The poet “fear[s] no evil” even in “the valley of the shadow of death,” but not just because her Shepherd has a rod and staff.

It is because her Shepherd guides her “along right paths.”

Even when the path leads through the valley of the shadow. Even then, it must be “right” because her Shepherd leads her there.

Even in the valley of the shadow of death, she trusts that her Shepherd will find green pastures and still waters to refresh her soul.

She trusts her Shepherd to lead her all the way home to the house of plenty, the house of protection. She does not need to know the way; all she needs to know is the Shepherd. The Shepherd is the Way.

Though the sheep may stumble through cold and brutal darkness, just a touch from the Shepherd’s staff lets her know that she is not lost. The path is still right. She is still with the Way that leads home.

Even in the valley of the shadow, with her Shepherd nearby, she can sing:

Surely your goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever
(Psalm 23:6).

Grace and peace.

Image, “Shadow of the Valley of Death,” by Roger Fenton.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Grown men cry

Photo by Gadiel Lazcano on Unsplash Why is it a rule that “grown men don’t cry”? I think the spirit of the rule must come from something like what happened between my nine-year old son and me this morning. I got up early on a Saturday,... Continue →