For Genevieve

Grandeur is not the standard for the greatest good we can do.

A sloppy crayon-on-paper drawing from my four-year old son is worth infinitely more to me than the masterwork of an accomplished artist.

Give me a choice between a hundred dollar bill or a compliment, a hug, a kind word, or a smile and I’ll let you keep your money every time.

I think most of us would choose the same.

A small kindness that seems no better than dropping a nickel in a beggar’s cup may be worth a million dollars if it changes the course of his life.

Tipping the scale just a little toward kindness today may be the ounce that turns someone away from death and back towards life.

Today, you will meet people who are barely keeping their nose above their addiction, boredom, confusion, depression, disappointment, doubt, exhaustion, fear, heartbreak, hopelessness, loneliness, regret, or shame.

Sending just one little kindness their way could be the point of light that gives them hope and keeps them going through their darkness.

Oh, what great power we have to change the world just by being kind!

Make that choice today.

And thank-you, Genevieve, for choosing to be kind to me.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

Soon, my dad will go on a journey beyond the stars. Here’s how I’m feeling and thinking about it.

A couple of weeks ago, my dad broke the news to my sisters and me: His doctors are out of real options for stopping the spread of his cancer. They offered to try a different kind of chemotherapy (Dad already put himself through two other... Continue →