New Year Resolve

We’re doing New Year resolutions all wrong.

In the context of the New Year, the dictionary defines “resolution” as “the act of resolving or determining upon an action, course of action, method, procedure, etc.”

*The act of resolving.“

What is "resolve?”

The dictionary defines “resolve” as “to come to a definite or earnest decision about; determine to (do something).”

In short, to make a resolution is to make up one’s mind.

So, a resolution is not quite setting a goal to lose 20 pounds.

Rather, it is a decision to change one’s mindset about one’s weight:

“I am resolved that food and vanity will no longer be my masters; I will master my appetite and my self-esteem. I will eat to live, not live to eat. I will enjoy the unconditional acceptance and love of my family and closest friends rather than obsessing over what strangers think of my appearance. I will cultivate inner beauty and outward love so that I don’t have time to feel self-pity. I will be as gracious and kind to myself as I am to others. I will change my mind.

Do you see the difference?

One of the Bible verses I had to memorize as a child was:

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” (Letters to the Romans 12.2a).

Do not let “the way things are” form you into their image; allow the Holy Love trans*form you instead. How? By *resolving–by changing the way you think and what you think about.

This is no mere “power of positive thinking.”

The author of the letter goes on to tell us what it looks like to renew our minds…and it’s not getting a promotion, a raise, or losing a few pounds.

The next few lines (you can read the entire passage here) are best summed up by this sentence: “Practice hospitality…toward friends, toward strangers, even toward enemies.”

A Christian resolves not to gain something for herself, but to give something of herself to the people around her–even and especially enemies!

In making up our minds to practice love through hospitality (by whatever means we have at hand), we forget ourselves long enough to let the Divine change us from the inside out.

So as we begin 2018, let us make up our minds to practice and pursue hospitality. We don’t need to make grand plan or subscribe to ‘Martha Stewart Living.’ All we simply have to do is resolve that we will practice hospitality with every chance we get and with every person we meet. At home. At work. At school. At church. Online (maybe especially online).

Self-improvement is not necessary; for when we focus on others, we make room for the Divine to transform us into something better than we could ever imagine ourselves becoming.

Happy New Year.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Happy birthday, Dad!

Today (March 9, 2020) is Travis Irwin’s 70th birthday. Travis Irwin is my dad. Will you give me a few minutes to tell you about him? It is a miracle that Dad made it to his 70th birthday. It was just a couple of years ago that he got a... Continue →