Thoughts on our 13th wedding anniversary (Oct. 3, 2021)

Deacon Marc wedding 2008.jpg

I am not even one-tenth of the husband I hope to become for my wife.

That I know after 13 years of marriage (today!–October 3, 2021).

The thing about marriage is, we have to get into it with its last day in mind.

Marriage is made for making faith, hope, and love over a lifetime together.

When I married Tracy, I knew that it would take decades (if I’m lucky) to grow into the man who knows how to love her just right.

But on the day that I become almost ten tenths of the husband I hope to be for her, we will be very old (if we’re lucky) and we may be sick and weak and going through one of the worst times of our lives. When that time comes, I’ll give her all that I’ve got left in the tank. It may not be much, but it will be all she needs then and there.

Then, all the decades of building trust and learning each other will add up to one moment on Earth when our marriage meets its full potential.

We will put our arms around each other and watch the sun set.

And one of us will say: “As good as love got sometimes in our long life together, I never imagined that it could feel like this! We must be in heaven.”

And soon after that, one of us will be.

…but that is then. Let’s hope “then” is far off.

Because today, on our 13th wedding anniversary, I want to enjoy and give thanks for the very great blessing, honor, and pleasure of getting one more year to build trust, learn love, and live life with Tracy.

May we still be three or four times farther away from our last day than we are from our first. God willing.

I love being with you. I love you. All the way.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Finding fault by default

The people who complain about the cold in the winter will be the same people who complain about allergies in the spring, heat in the summer, and the leaves they have to rake in the fall. The people who make excuses for what they can’t do... Continue →