Life is in the trying

Life is not in the accomplishing; it’s in the trying.

Standing on the summit only reveals another summit off in the distance. Another valley to cross. Another mountain to climb. Another peak to reach.

The truth is: We live 99 percent of our lives everywhere but the summit. We live most of our lives climbing the slopes or wandering in the valleys.

Is it wisdom, then, to make our happiness and peace conditional on standing on the summit? It is wisdom to ever say: “I will be happy when…?”

Indeed, the joy and rest at the summit is only joyful and restful because of the labor and struggle of the slopes and valleys.

No slopes, no valleys, no mountaintop experience.

Those peak moments are a blessing when they happen.

But we don’t live life on the peak.

We live life in the slopes and valleys.

Life is not in the accomplishing; it’s in the trying.

“I am happy and at peace here and now. I am happy to be trying.”

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Write now.

My three-year old, Daniel, woke up at 6 a.m. this morning. That happens to be the middle of my reading/reflection/writing time. He wanted to watch Disney Junior. I turned on the TV and turned to go back upstairs to my writing corner. He... Continue →