You may already have what you always wanted

Yesterday, I found out my dreams have come true.

I made it to 40.

I’m married to a loving, loyal, and interesting–pardon the expression–MILF. And she’ll eventually forgive me for writing that.

My son is a fantastic little boy with who alternately likes to bodyslam me like a 33-pound WWE wrestler or curl up in my lap like a puppy dog.

Beautiful, connected, educated, influential, popular people want to hang out with me.

I earn a living doing work I love with a growing and profitable company I started myself.

I belong to an excellent church that manages to suit my conservative upbringing and liberal tendencies at the same time.

I own a nice home within walking distance of a trendy little downtown in suburban Detroit.

My Starbucks card automatically reloads itself when the balance drops below $10.

My life is everything I dreamed and hoped and prayed it would be when I was gnawing on pizza bones in the college dorm 20 years ago.

I have no reasons to not overflow with contentment, gratitude, and joy.

Even more, I have no excuses to not be generous, kind, and patient.

I dwell daily on these words of Jesus Christ: “To him who is given much, much will be expected in return.”

I have been given eyes of faith to see that God has given me all I ever needed and wanted.

May he give me heart and mind and muscle to cheerfully give it all back.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Ode to Tracy on her birthday (or the “heathen temptress” who turned out to be my angel of light)

I tried so hard to talk myself out of liking or loving Tracy. The biggest reason I tried so hard to not like her is that I didn’t imagine she would like me back. I wanted to save myself the heartbreak, so I tried to coax my heart away... Continue →