Winter solstice

Some people think of winter as cold, dark, depressing, and gloomy.

I’ve never felt that way about winter.

As far back as my memory will take me, winter has always been a season of light and warmth.

The way I see it, God made a whole season in which it is natural to fatten up, gather close, and rest a lot. In winter, we build up the stores of energy that we will ignite like fireworks come summertime.

God, in wisdom, made every season for a reason. And enjoyment is one of the reasons in every season.

If God is the artist who imagined winter, then winter surely has as much joy and life in it as the warm seasons do.

Even this pandemic winter of deepest darkness and isolation.

December 21 marks the Winter Solstice. Or, as my mom called it: “The shortest day of the year.”

“This is the darkest day of the year,” she said. “But starting tomorrow, the days will start getting a little longer and a little longer. Summer will start coming back again!”

On the “darkest day of the year,” it is tempting to wish very hard for summer.

But my mom also said (quite often): “Don’t wish your life away.”

On December 21, we may wish for June 21 to be here right now. Most of all this year, when people are dying from disease and from loneliness.

But to wish away winter is to wish away the gift of God. The gift into which God “put a lot of thought.” The gift God gives in love, not only for our betterment, but for our enjoyment, too.

This gift of winter may seem to be wrapped in cold, darkness, and isolation, but it is a gift from God. If we believe that God gives the best gifts, then why not open this one? Why not open ourselves to the surprises God hid for us to find in the dark?

Grace and peace.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

One of the best Thanksgivings of my life

This is the story of how my emptiest Thanksgiving turned out to be my fullest. The year was 1998. I was a senior at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. That year, as always, my dad and mom hosted a big Thanksgiving celebration at... Continue →