Winners stay home

In my teens, 20s, and 30s–most of my life!–I thought that only a “loser” would stay home.

By “loser” I meant me…staying home.

By “staying home” I meant…

…not being out with attractive, luminary, well-connected people on a Friday or Saturday night…

…struggling to build a home-based business rather than get a “real job”…

…not going out to the most interesting places around town so I can tell everyone else I went there.

“No,” I thought. “Only a loser would be at home on a Friday or Saturday night. I don’t want to be a loser.”

Then along came Tracy and Daniel and our home.

Now, I cannot imagine anyone more attractive, luminary, or worth knowing than my wife and son.

I can’t imagine missing so many special moments that I now enjoy with my little boy because I’m a work-from-home dad.

I cannot imagine a more interesting place than my own home when my family is gathered there.

I used to be on the go all the time and my social calendar was full. I knew people and was known by people. And you know what? I never once felt even a fraction of the joy I feel now when I’m with just two people at our humble kitchen table.

Maybe it’s not for everyone, but it’s for me.

Winners stay home and I’m a winner.

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

When joy and sadness live together…and why I haven’t posted since August

Photo by Ricardo Gomez Angel on Unsplash Have you ever had a “first Christmas without [insert the name of a family member or friend who died]?” When people asked you how you were doing, what did you say to them? I suppose what you felt... Continue →