Where do you “keep coming back”?

I’ve been to a few 12-step meetings in my time. It’s been about 15 years since I last snuck into one.

What I remember most about those meetings is a line I heard people say several times a meeting: “Keep coming back.”

I think that’s the formula.

I don’t know if we all have addictive or compulsive sins in our lives.

I know I do.

It’s frustrating: I know the damage my compulsion does to myself and to others. And yet…I keep going back to it.

I keep going back.

“Keep coming back.”

Like I said: I think that’s the formula.

It’s math: For as many times as we go back to our sins, do we come back to a place of grace and kindness?

Do we eventually come back to that place of grace and kindness more than we go back to our sins?

If we make it a habit to “keep coming back” weekly, daily, hourly, by the minute, how much time do we have to go back to our sins?

A couple of weeks ago, I heard someone say in an interview: “Addition always works, subtraction never does.”

What she meant is that trying to get something compulsive out of our lives never works. We have to put something good into our lives that will outgrow the bad and eventually swallow it up.

I may not have the answer for my compulsive sins today; but will I “keep coming back” anyway?

Our sinful nature doesn’t change in a flash.

It changes when we “keep coming back.”

And “keep coming back” some more.

And “keep coming back” until we don’t go back to sin.

What is your place of grace? Where do you “keep coming back”?

Make sure you visit today.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

When my marriage felt like it could be ending, it was really just beginning

“You should talk about whether it’s a good idea for you to get married.” This is the bomb the counselor dropped on my fiancee, Tracy, and me when we were just a few weeks from our wedding. To get married at the church where Tracy grew... Continue →