What will you do with your sabbatical?

Have you ever dreamed of taking a sabbatical?

For most of us, dreaming of such a thing is like dreaming of a surprise inheritance or winning the lottery.

“But,” we think to ourselves. “That will never happen for me! A sabbatical is just a daydream.”

Don’t look now, but unless you’re a first responder, a front line service worker, or a medical professional, you’re on sabbatical.

And, yes, it is a sabbatical…if you choose to think of it that way.

I know, I know. A sabbatical often involves travel. And that is out of the question at this time.

But even though your body cannot travel, you are the only one to say that your mind cannot travel. A sabbatical–chosen or forced upon you–is what you choose to make of it.

So, what will you choose to make of this sabbatical?

Where will you let your mind wander? What ideas will you let your mind explore? What perspective on life will you allow this to give you? What new life will you imagine on the other side of this?

You’re on sabbatical. Don’t waste it.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

What I’ll do if Trump wins

When I get up at 5:30 a.m. on Wednesday, November 9, I’ll do my morning journaling and writing. I’ll make breakfast for Daniel (Waffle Wednesday!) and get us both ready for the day. We’ll make the 30-minute commute to Daniel’s preschool.... Continue →