We can get along while not getting along

We can get along in this country even if we don’t really get along.

How do I know?

My wife and I have not been getting along for almost 11 years. We don’t agree on money. We don’t agree on religion. We don’t agree on sports teams.

We don’t even agree on how or whether to disagree (imagine having a disagreement about whether or not to call it a disagreement!).

And we sleep together every night!

I’m not talking about sleeping in matching twin beds. I’m talking about snuggling and spooning.

We raise a son. We keep up with two houses and two vehicles. We throw parties for our family and friends.

We manage life together and we still have fun.

I am crazy about my wife and madly in love with her even though some of the things she does/says/thinks seem crazy and mad to me.

I’m just thankful she doesn’t have a blog to write about my craziness/madness.

What we’ve learned after all these years is that being in an enriching, life-giving, self-changing relationship doesn’t mean alignment of opinions. It doesn’t even mean we agree on most things.

What it means is this: We value the other person enough to make it work.

Make it work.

Make it work.

Make it work.

Bad day today? The sun will come up tomorrow. Make it work.

Don’t feel much goodwill toward the other person? We’ve got a four-year old. Make it work.

Tired of making it work? Find a new way to make it work.

Because after 11 years of making it work, I can tell you it’s so worth it. When I look at my amazing and beautiful wife and son I can tell you it’s worth it.

Make it work.

You know, this works in friendship, too. And church.

And for a country.

Onward and upward.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

45

I’m thankful that I made it 45 years. I’ve known people who didn’t make it to ten, 20, 30, or 40. I can recall the names of several people who died in their early 40s this year (some of them with COVID). When I hear people complain about... Continue →