Faith at 40

At age 10, faith was something that happened in the ancient past. At 20, it was anticipation of the future. At 40, it’s what gets me through the present.

At age 10, faith was a word devout old men used at church. At 20, it was an idea to discuss with cute Christian girls at the coffee house near campus. At 40, “faith” hangs out with “balance due,” “test results,” “we need to talk,” and any question that begins with: “Dad, why…?”

At age 10, faith was how Dad and Mom made presents appear under the Christmas tree. At 20, it was my “Plan B” if “Plan A” didn’t work. At 40, faith is figuring out how presents appear for my son under the Christmas tree.

At age 10, I knew faith as well as I knew my parents’ financial planner. At 20, it was an acquaintance I saw once and awhile at campus Bible studies. At 40, faith is my best friend and constant companion.

At age 10, faith was nothing. At 20, it was something. At 40, faith is becoming everything.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Happy birthday, Dad!

Today (March 9, 2020) is Travis Irwin’s 70th birthday. Travis Irwin is my dad. Will you give me a few minutes to tell you about him? It is a miracle that Dad made it to his 70th birthday. It was just a couple of years ago that he got a... Continue →