Thank God for “normal”

I had a head cold this week.

I was tired all the time. The crud in my head (or was it the drugs in my bloodstream?) gummed up alertness, creativity, and lucidity. My head ached. My nose dripped. My throat felt like I swallowed safety glass.

Today I woke up and felt normal.

Which is to say I felt great.

Because “normal” feels so good after a few days of “abnormal.”

How many days do we wake up and gripe to others or ourselves?

We gripe about the weather.

We gripe about having to get out of bed.

We gripe about what we have for breakfast.

We gripe about the commute.

We gripe about our job.

We gripe about what a drag it is to put up with our lives each day.

We gripe about “normal.”

And then God gives us the gift of “abnormal” to remind us that “normal” is amazing. “Normal” is a blessed privilege. “Normal” is not to be taken for granted. “Normal” is to be celebrated, cherished, and lifted up in prayers of joyous thanksgiving.

So thank God for “normal” today, because it doesn’t get any better than this.

Grace and peace.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Grown men cry

Photo by Gadiel Lazcano on Unsplash Why is it a rule that “grown men don’t cry”? I think the spirit of the rule must come from something like what happened between my nine-year old son and me this morning. I got up early on a Saturday,... Continue →