What is the shelf life of faith?

“I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”–Jesus Christ (Gospel of Matthew 18.3).

As I age, I notice something changing about the way I see life.

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Anything can happen!”

Now I find myself muttering more and more: “That won’t ever happen.”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Expect great things!”

Now I find myself cautioning: “Don’t expect much.” Or worse: “What did you expect?”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Let’s try! If it’s worth God loving, it’s worth our doing.”

Now I find myself shrugging: “It’s really not worth bothering.”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “God will meet all our needs! He cares for us!”

Now I find myself yawning: “God cares for those who care for themselves.”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Anyone can change!”

Now I find myself sighing: “That person will never change.”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Life is full of wonder! Every day is miraculous and overflowing with good things!”

Now I find myself sputtering: “Just try to get through the day.”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Look! God is in everything. The whole world is full of his glory!”

Now I find myself lamenting: “Where is God when you need him?”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “It’s going to just keep getting better!”

Now I find myself conceding: “This is as good as it’s going to get.”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “I will forgive others the way God forgives me.”

Now I find myself grumbling: “I’ll forgive, but I won’t forget!”

When I was young in my faith, I said: “Hallelujah! Forever!”

Now I find myself throwing shade: “Whatever.”

“I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”–Jesus Christ (Gospel of Matthew 18.3).

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

“Black Lives Matter” is biblical and common sense

My dad was a Church of Christ preacher and my mom was a school secretary. They raised three children. Dad and Mom brought us up to believe and practice good, old-fashioned family values and the teachings of the Bible. I am proud of my... Continue →