Self-righteousness in the age of Trump

I’ve noticed something disturbing in myself since November 9, 2016.

It’s language. Words that drift through my mind. They seem to settle somewhere around my chest until it puffs out so much it pushes my chin and nose to a slight upward tilt.

These words…

“Buffoon.”

“Clown.”

“Con man.”

“Crook.”

“Disgrace.”

“Fool.”

“Idiot.”

“Incompetent.”

“Scumbag.”

“Sleaze.”

“Idiot.”

I can go on and it can get worse.

I am, of course, thinking these words to myself as I read the New York Times coverage of president-elect Donald Trump.

At some point this week, I actually listened to myself think. What I heard going through my mind was every bit as sinful and wrong as the behavior I was criticizing in someone else. I became what I judged. And I wasn’t judging for any good reason; only because it feels good to judge myself better than someone else.

I’ve criticized Donald Trump for his zero-sum “has to be a winner, has to be a loser” outlook on life. Then I find that I’m playing the game myself: “He’s so bad (loser) compared to me (winner).”

Jesus Christ taught that anyone who calls his brother/sister (or fellow citizen or fellow human) a fool is in danger of hell (Gospel of Matthew 5.22). As I reflect on my own attitudes and behavior over the last week, I can see that the danger here is not God casting me into hell as punishment. No, the danger is that I will kindle my own hell and make it spread to others until it burns us all down.

A time will come for both private and public criticism of the President. That is true for every President in a republic like ours. Public criticism is what makes our society function as a democracy. It is important to ask ourselves, however: Do I criticize to uplift all of us–including the President–or do I criticize merely to uplift myself? If it is the latter, I am part of the problem and have no grounds for criticism.

I repent (turn away) from the sin of criticism and judgment for the sake of my own self-esteem. How is your heart this week?

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

What I wrote about Christians who believed in Donald Trump

Jesus answered, “My kingdom is not from this world. If my kingdom were from this world, my followers would be fighting…but as it is, my kingdom is not from here” (Gospel of John 18:36). On January 7, 2021, I posted about Donald Trump and... Continue →