Real is better than ideal

Playing with my son and his toys (real) is better than the elaborate family outing to a kid-friendly destination (ideal)–because that elaborate family outing isn’t going to happen (anytime soon).

Eating popcorn and watching ‘Modern Family’ reruns with my wife every Tuesday night (real) is better than an expensive evening out at a Broadway show and trendy restaurant (ideal)–because that expensive evening only comes once or twice a year.

Pizza and plenty of laughs with old friends (real) is better than the five-course gourmet dinner party I’d like to throw for people I want to impress (ideal)–because that dinner party is unlikely to happen.

Going for a long walk each day (real) is better than training for an Iron Man Triathlon (ideal)–because, well…you know.

Reading a couple of chapters from the Gospels alone in the car before work (real) is better than the in-depth scholarly study I want to do on the sayings of Jesus (ideal)–because I’m never going to get around to that study.

Confessing my foibles, shortcomings, and sins to a faithful friend in private (real) is better than preaching an eloquent sermon to hundreds of strangers (ideal)–because the eloquent sermon only fills me with pride (and isolation).

Quality time with family in a messy home (real) is better than owning a house worthy of HGTV (ideal)–because the HGTV house isn’t home.

Be careful that you don’t miss the blessings and richness of your real because you keep on chasing an ideal.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

(COVID) Christmastime is here

Photo by Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash I’m writing this two days before Christmas 2023. Yesterday, we found out that my son, Daniel, has more than a cold; he has COVID. He’ll get over it. Our plans for Christmas, however, will not.... Continue →