Peace or dust

We all agree on one thing: We are a nation deeply divided.

I think most of us agree that being divided is bad thing, a harmful thing.

Most of us agree that being united is better.

So we agree on three very big things. We can build on that.

How?

Reconciliation and unity will not come from Washington, D.C. We all know that it’s not possible for the federal government to make us all get along. Besides, we all know that conflict is a big moneymaker for politicians. What incentive do they have to stop sowing conflict?

Reconciliation and unity will not come from the media. We all know that conflict is a big moneymaker for the media. What incentive does the media have to stop reporting conflict?

Reconciliation and unity will not come from the corporations. The bottom line is the bottom line. Vision sees only as far as the next quarterly earnings report. Corporations do whatever increases profit and that means supporting those in power. Those in power prefer conflict over unity. What incentive do corporations have to stop supporting those who sow conflict?

So that leaves you and me. It’s up to you and me to be peacemakers. It’s up to you and me to unite us.

How?

I don’t exactly know, but I’m sure it has something to do with a “missionary mindset.” A missionary chooses to live among strangers in a strange place in order to bring them friendship, goodwill and peace. Choosing to live among strangers in a strange place means choosing to leave what is comfortable, familiar, and safe.

The outcome of missionary work is that strangers–even hostile strangers–become close friends.

This is exactly what you and I need to do now.

If you’re wondering what that means for you in practice, I don’t know. I admit I don’t know what I’m going to do either. I have been a vocal opponent of Donald Trump and a vocal proponent of liberal social policy. Does having a “missionary mindset” mean I go join the local Republican club? I don’t know.

I commit to you, however, that I’m going to keep moving toward and opening myself up to my political opponents.

That means choosing to spend less time with people who are like me and more time with people who are different. It means asking more than telling and listening more than talking.

You may be afraid to even start. I know I am. Like you, I wonder what good it will do. I’m pessimistic about the people on the “Trump Train.”

You may be on the Trump Train and just as pessimistic about “elitist liberals” like me. I get it.

Let’s not let this cynicism and pessimism keep us from starting. Cynicism and pessimism are a choice. But so is faith. So is hope. We have the power within us to choose faith and hope, so there is no excuse for choosing cynicism and pessimism.

Jesus once sent 72 of his apprentices out on a mission of goodwill and mercy. They were to fan out to cities and towns that Jesus himself could not visit. In each of those places, they were to announce the Year of Jubilee for all people–the year when criminal records are wiped clean, debts are forgiven, prisoners are released, and property is restored to each and every person. They were to forgive sins, heal the sick, and release people from addictions and mental illnesses.

Jesus warned these 72 missionaries: You will be welcome in many of the places you visit, but some people and places will not welcome you. They will look at you with contempt and suspicion. Don’t sweat it. Go to everyone in peace. Those who welcome you will receive your peace. When people do not welcome you, just dust yourself off and take your peace with you to the next place.

The point is not to change people’s minds; the point is to change the way you treat other people. You have complete control over that.

Good advice for us now. Let’s get started today.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

What to do when we’re teetering at the end of the world

Photo by Max Kukurudziak on Unsplash Last night, I tossed and turned for hours thinking about something that Fiona Hill said in an interview I read yesterday: “We’re already in [World War III].” Imagining where all of this will lead is... Continue →