Less for Christmas

I barely remember my wedding (it could be that I didn’t get a bite to eat at my own reception).

I do remember in fine detail how my wife and I used to cuddle and talk in bed for hours on Saturday mornings.

I can’t recall a single thing I got for Christmas last year. Sorry, everybody.

I can tell you what it feels like every time my four-year old kisses my cheek.

I don’t remember much about those big New Year’s Eve parties we used to throw for 100 or more people. They cost hundreds of dollars, took weeks to plan, and we didn’t get home until 3 a.m.

I do remember the friends who came from out of town for those parties. I remember how we would sit around the kitchen table and visit for hours the next day.

I don’t remember much about the first and second birthday parties we threw for my son. There were big expenses, big stress, and big work. And he seemed bored by it all.

Oh, but the sweet memories I have of taking him to the local playground!

I cannot remember what we bought with the credit card debt we’ve been paying for what seems like forever. At the time, I guess we thought whatever we were buying would make us happy enough to be worth going into debt.

I’m unhappy about that debt now. I don’t think what we bought was worth it.

This time of year, in particular, tempts us to behave and believe as if more is more. Experience, however, should teach us that more is often less.

If you want to make this a Christmas season to remember, perhaps your rule should be: Less is more.

Grace and peace.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

The Civil War is over

When I was a boy, I had a thing for the Civil War. When other boys were playing video games, I was reading and re-reading ‘The Civil War’ by Bruce Catton. I knew that my family had deep roots in the South. I had a hunch that my family... Continue →