Limits are gifts

Limits are gifts of great value.

I used to treat sleep as optional. “I’ll just go without sleep this week” were words that frequently came from my mouth.

My body argued a little (20s) and then protested (30s). As I was approaching 40, my body had it’s way: I will sleep at least 6.4 hours per night or else.

The “or else” is shuffling around all day, eyes drooping, head throbbing, unable to concentrate or produce anything of much value.

My body’s limit is improving the quality of my life a great deal. For the last six months, I’ve been averaging 6.4 hours of sleep per night (no alarm) and I feel great. The quality of my life and work is improving dramatically.

The limit is a gift.

We don’t tend to like limits because they force us to make hard choices.

In my case, my body’s limit on waking hours is forcing me to choose sleep. Which means I’m choosing not to do other activities I used to do in place of sleep.

What activities?

Surfing the Internet, watching television, and work emails.

I didn’t want to have to choose not to do those things. For some reason I felt like choosing to go to be instead would mean I was somehow missing out.

Well, what else is new? Life is about missing out on some things in order to do others. It’s a hard choice that reveals what is truly most important to us.

Limits lead us into those choices and move us toward our hearts.

Knowing that I will get 6.4 hours of sleep (or preferably more) means I must make wiser choices about my waking hours. For example, less time interfacing with emails and social media and more time interfacing with my son and wife.

We can’t do it all, but we can do something.

You get to choose that something. In the end, you have to choose that something.

Thank God for the limit that leads you to your heart.

What will you choose?

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Grown men cry

Photo by Gadiel Lazcano on Unsplash Why is it a rule that “grown men don’t cry”? I think the spirit of the rule must come from something like what happened between my nine-year old son and me this morning. I got up early on a Saturday,... Continue →