Just because

When I was a kid, “Just Because” was a good enough answer to the biggest questions in life.

Especially this big one: “Daddy, why do you love me?”

As a child, “Just Because” could be scientific fact and mysterious truth at the same time. And I was happy.

At some age (I don’t recall when), “Just Because” wasn’t good enough any more. School and work likely had something to do with it. “Just Because” doesn’t cut it in American management practice and the scientific method.

“Just Because” doesn’t work on a balance sheet, a resume, a term paper.

And yet…

Aren’t our souls are hungry and thirsty for more “Just Because”?

Don’t we long to go back to a time when love was “Just Because?”

A time when we did art and daydreaming and music and play and whatever “Just Because”?

A time when “Just Because” was enough because our hearts, our selves were enough.

I think the Gospel Story–the Good News–is an announcement that our “Just Because” time is not in our long-gone past. It is now. And forever. That the beating heart of the universe is love for us “Just Because.”

Today and all its beauty and glory and wonder are “Just Because.”

The universe is “Just Because.”

You are “Just Because.”

Today, may your soul rest in this truth, my friend.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

The morning after

It’s morning in America. November 9, 2016, to be exact. I just saw the news (and I don’t need to tell you what news I’m talking about). My four-year old son, Daniel, has the croup. I went to bed early expecting to be up a few times... Continue →