Fresh coffee

About two years ago, I began keeping a daily journal. Every morning before the sun comes up, I fill one page with thanksgiving. Whatever gratitude brings to mind, I write it on the page in no order.

Going back through several hundred pages of thanksgiving, it is interesting how many times “fresh, hot coffee” shows up.

It’s not a surprise. The first thing I do when I come downstairs in the morning is grind some coffee and make a fresh cup. I’m drinking it from one of my favorite mugs as I write in my journal.

I’ll tell you what, though: Gratitude journal or no gratitude journal, a fresh cup of coffee at 5:30 a.m. is the champagne of morning time.

The first sip that passes my lips makes me glad to be awake.

It’s a little thing, but after two years of practicing thanksgiving, the little things are the ones that make life good in a big way.

Eating cereal with my five-year old.

Having a full head of hair.

A house that stays 70 degrees inside when it’s freezing outside.

Touching bare feet with my wife in bed.

The way the dawn lights up our street in the morning.

An old pair of blue jeans.

Sweater weather.

Internet access.

Going to the bathroom.

Singing church songs to my son as I drive him to preschool.

Singing along to Phil Collins after I drop him off.

Contact lenses.

People who come and take our garbage away.

People who bring us mail.

People who send us mail.

A phone call from my wife in the middle of the day.

A rotisserie chicken and hot bread with my family at the end of the day.

Our kitchen table.

Reading the Berenstain Bears to my son for the 1,000th time.

Kissing him goodnight and hearing him say “I love you, Daddy.”

Flannel pajama bottoms and wool socks.

Watching corny movies with my wife.

Dental floss and toothpaste.

Sleeping with a beautiful woman every night.

I could keep going with more little things. Millions of them.

I’ll take a million of those little things over a million dollars any day.

Because those millions of dollars couldn’t buy a single one of those little things that make my life worth living.

What about you?

Happy Thanksgiving!

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

Happy birthday, Dad!

Today (March 9, 2020) is Travis Irwin’s 70th birthday. Travis Irwin is my dad. Will you give me a few minutes to tell you about him? It is a miracle that Dad made it to his 70th birthday. It was just a couple of years ago that he got a... Continue →