Getting all (none of) it done

I’m not going to get much done today.

That is, if you mean emails and phone calls and project work. The kinds of to-do lists professionals make for each day.

My three-year old has a very bad head cold and a cough so bad he threw up his Frosted Mini Wheats. I’m home with him today. He’ll play with his toys and watch TV. He may even take a nap. When he does, I’ll squeeze in “work” where I can.

I’m not going to get much done today.

And yet…what I do today will go down as one of the great accomplishments of my life.

In 20 or 30 years, neither my son nor I will remember emails and phone calls. We won’t remember the “work” that didn’t get done today.

But we will remember the day we got to hang out at home together. I’ll treasure the memory of my son when he was just three. If he can even remember this day, he’ll recall when his daddy stayed home from “work” to rub his back and wipe his nose.

This is a day of towering achievement.

Excuse me, please, I’m being called to the den to “rescue the rhino.” I guess I’ll go find out what that means. Sounds urgent. And important.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

What will you do with your sabbatical?

Have you ever dreamed of taking a sabbatical? For most of us, dreaming of such a thing is like dreaming of a surprise inheritance or winning the lottery. “But,” we think to ourselves. “That will never happen for me! A sabbatical is just... Continue →