On being Christian in the year of Clinton versus Trump

It’s about us. We the People. What matters to you and me and what can we do it about?

And I mean what can WE do about it?

I don’t mean the cliche about how real change happens with us–not on the campaign trail or in Washington, D.C.

As an American, I can get away with that. As long as I obey the law and vote to elect my representatives, I’m going pretty good as a citizen.

But this also gives me a convenient and VALID excuse to not do anything myself. AND it gives me someone to blame–either an incompetent representative or an opponent–when things don’t go the way I think they should. This is a “good enough” way to be an American citizen. Always been that way. Always will be that way.

But for a Christian who is a citizen of the United States, it is not enough.

For example, if my conscience hurts and my heart breaks and my indignation burns because of the violence in this land, voting is not enough. My Christ’s orders are to DO SOMETHING about the violence.

This is where many Christians move from VOTING to VOICING. Perhaps on a blog or call-in radio shows or on social media. Perhaps even at marches and rallies.

But for the Christian, voicing is not enough. My Christ’s orders aren’t to speak up about the violence. No, his orders are to DO SOMETHING about the violence. As in me, Brad Irwin, who resides in Clawson, Michigan, in 2016. If violence bothers my conscience as an American and Christian, my Christ orders me to GO make peace.

Vote peace. Voice peace. Sure.

But the Christian finds a way to go make peace.

So I’m asking myself as we enter this presidential election season: What is it that my Christ has for me to do in what is likely to be a contentious (and perhaps violent) few months here in America? I’m not wondering how my Christ wishes me to vote, but how he wishes me to act.

Specifically, I wonder about campaigning for (or against) a particular candidate. Is that my calling as a Christian?

I don’t think so.

Some of the most acrimonious and perhaps violent disagreement is likely to be between Christians themselves. This is a very great threat to our fidelity to the Way of Christ. Fidelity to the Way of Christ means fidelity to each other so that, as a community of faith, we can be effective as a servant and witness at a time when society needs hope, joy, love, and peace.

In the Roman Coliseum of the 2016 presidential election, the church of Christ is called to stand apart as a people of calm, gentleness, patience, peace, and tenderness. While everyone around us is fighting each other with their words, we are invoking cooperation, empathy, and thoughtful reflection. This is no passive role in society; it is active, in the trenches, right in the middle of everything.

We make a big mistake when we start with the candidates themselves or their parties and platforms. Even a discussion of the issues breaks down quickly.

Perhaps we should start with what we all desire down in our hearts. In the words of John F. Kennedy: “Our most basic common link is that we all inhabit this planet. We all breathe the same air. We all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.”

And rather than try our hardest to be heard, perhaps we should consecrate this election cycle to hearing. Instead of making statements, perhaps we should devote ourselves to asking questions. Instead of taking a stand, perhaps we should declare this holy ground and take a knee.

I don’t mean run away from the election. Rather, I mean run toward those who are different from us and seek to affirm them, serve them, understand them. Their voices and their votes echo the cries of the hearts. Cries that I believe no president can console and hearts that no president can heal. People need someone closer to home. Someone like you and me.

The only questions I’m asking myself these days is how do I do that? And I certainly don’t mean blog posts and Facebook.

What do you think?

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

What will you do with your sabbatical?

Have you ever dreamed of taking a sabbatical? For most of us, dreaming of such a thing is like dreaming of a surprise inheritance or winning the lottery. “But,” we think to ourselves. “That will never happen for me! A sabbatical is just... Continue →