“Christians are just mean”

I recently listened to a 2008 interview of Greg Boyd, Shane Claiborne, and Chuck Colson.

These three distinguished evangelical leaders debated and discussed the relationship between American politics and Christianity.

At one point, Claiborne said something that helped me finally find words to express what I’ve been feeling for almost 20 years. He said that when it comes to politics in America, “Christians are just mean.”

I could add “angry,” “contemptuous,” “dismissive,” “eager to pick a fight,” “flippant,” “harsh,” “ill-mannered,” “rude,” “sarcastic,” “self-righteous,” “smug,” “stubborn,” and “threatening.” I can find all the evidence I need of Christian meanness on Facebook.

Yes, that’s a blanket statement and an unfair generalization. I think most evangelical Christians are polite. They simply withdraw when the tone of the conversation starts to turn ugly.

Unfortunately, that amplifies the harshest voices and has the effect of making them unofficial spokespersons for all Christians.

Jesus Christ commanded his apprentices to “love your neighbor as yourself.” For Christians, this is the basis for our participation in the public square. We cannot withdraw from politics (how we cooperate with our fellow citizens to order and organize ourselves around our shared priorities) and be obedient to Christ’s command to love our neighbors. Politics–especially in a democracy–is an amazing tool for neighbor love.

What our nation–our 318.9 million neighbors–needs from evangelical Christians is not less political participation, but more.

As Christians, however, we would do well to actually obey our own Bible:

“Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt” (Colossians 4.6).

Let us always remember these words of Jesus Christ:

“For with the same judgment you pronounce, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you” (Gospel of Matthew 7.2).

I think the Christ meant what he said.

Let that give us pause before we open our mouths to speak.

Onward and upward.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Why I’m talking politics for the first time in 20 years

This week I announced to my social media network that I will vote for Hillary Clinton for President of the United States. Over my adult life, I’ve made it a point to keep politics to myself for the most part. I think I chose to be... Continue →