Campaigning Christian-ly

The other day I wrote a post called “Voting American-ly. Voting Christian-ly.” It was an attempt to explain what is behind my decision to vote for Hillary Clinton for President of the United States.

This post is not about voting, but campaigning. It’s one thing to be thoughtful about casting your own vote. It’s another thing to be thoughtful about how you try to persuade others to cast their votes.

Since coming out for Hillary Clinton a few days ago, I think I’ve written more about empathy and understanding than during any other period in my life.

When sharing my decision for the first time, I tried not to share it like a flamethrower shares flames. I tried to be matter-of-fact without a hint of contempt or disrespect for anyone. I wanted my announcement to be an invitation for the curious and something of a challenge for the not curious.

Some people took offense anyway. I expected that some people would take offense just because they’re Republicans. That’s the natural reflex for anyone. As a lifelong Ohio State fan, do I get my hackles up when I hear ‘Hail to the Victors?“ Yes. Am I offended? Not really. Do I think University of Michigan fans should not sing their fight song? No. In fact, I admire the University of Michigan. Its fans should sing "Hail to the Victors” with verve. Ohio State wouldn’t be Ohio State if there wasn’t a Michigan.

The offense some people took surprised me. It wasn’t that they were Republicans and I was coming out for a Democrat. It’s that my announcement–mild as I tried to make it–came across as a personal insult, a threat, and ugly taunt. A couple of friends wrote me to express disappointment and surprise that I of all people would act as a troll. By their notes to me, others acted as if I pulled a gun on them. They were agitated, defensive. One or two people gently advised me to stay out of politics, it could only harm my reputation.

At first, I wondered if I did something wrong. As I paid more attention to the dominant tone of most political discourse online, it began to make more sense. Political language is often so base, careless, disrespectful, egotistical, insensitive, judgmental, rude, thoughtless, and ugly that our conversational reflexes are warped. It’s like a child who grows up in an abusive home. She goes to live with loving and new parents. She flinches every time they reach out to hug her because she’s so used to grown-ups who hit her. I believe so much political discourse these days is abusive. We go through life with hair-trigger defense mechanisms. We either hide or we shoot first before we can be shot. Or perhaps just an innocent remark comes across as a major provocation.

I think that’s what happened when I announced for support for Hillary Clinton. I tried to be mild, but everyone’s nerves are raw in this environment. Mild was interpreted as mean.

Thus the idea of “campaigning Christian-ly.”

What does this mean?

First of all, I believe people in our country feel afraid and vulnerable. It’s what we all have in common. Ever thought about that? Your so-called political enemy is just as afraid as you. You’re both fighting for your lives. A lot of people in our country feel wounded. It’s no wonder they fight like wounded animals. The fear is not an “us” while “they” are unafraid. The fear is in all of us. Do you want to argue with me that this is not true?

Our people feel afraid, vulnerable, wounded.

What does Jesus Christ teach us about how we relate to people who are afraid, vulnerable, and wounded?

I look to Christ’s parable of the Good Samaritan from the Gospel of Luke 10.25-37. It’s the story of arch enemies. Cultural enemies. Political enemies. Religious enemies. The two main characters in the story could be about any of the opposing groups in our own country right now. For instance, it could be about a conservative white Christian businessman who is with Donald Trump’s “America First” all the way. The other character in the story could be a African-American man recently released from prison and living in his girlfriend’s house. It could be a gay person. A Muslim refugee. An undocumented immigrant.

Please note: All of them feel vulnerable. It’s their vulnerability that makes them choose how to vote and who to support.

So it is with the Jew and the Samaritan in Luke 10.25-37. These two men are enemies. Opponents. They perceive each other as a threat to their own existence. Each one of them likely supports policies that they perceive will protect them from the other.

If you know the story of the Good Samaritan, you know it starts with a command (“Love your neighbor as yourself”), followed by a question (“Who is my neighbor?”), followed by the parable, and ending with another question (“Which one was a neighbor?”) and a command (“Go do likewise”).

In the story, the Jew and the Samaritan form a bond of sorts. It’s not a culture, political, or religious bond. In all likelihood, after these two men had their encounter they went back to their opposing views on politics and religion. Despite their opposing views, however, they act as neighbors. This is the point of the story Jesus tells.

So how do these opponents act as neighbors? The story is very specific. When the Jew is beaten, robbed, and thrown to the side of the road to die (afraid, vulnerable, wounded), the Samaritan saves his life and takes care of him (compassion, healing, protection).

I believe this it what it means to “campaign Christian-ly.” We first change the way we look at each other. We recognize the fear and vulnerability that each of us is confronting in our own lives. Then we act with compassion, kindness, patience, respect, understanding. I will vote for Hillary Clinton in November, but my Lord wants me to focus on the hard work of being a neighbor to people who will vote for Donald Trump.

I think that simply comes down to seeking first to understand before seeking to be understood (to borrow Stephen Covey’s maxim). It comes down to lifting up others and validating their feelings and opinions. It means asking questions and listening to the answers. It means giving our opponents a safe place to be vulnerable and open up. It means celebrating what makes us different.

For those who want to listen, I plan to share why I’m voting for Hillary Clinton. I hope those people will do their homework and make their own thoughtful decisions. I hope many of them will choose to join me in making a massive statement about the direction of our country.

However, I hope that when this election is over, people will say I listened more than I talked. I hope those who choose to vote for another candidate will say that I gave them respect and space to be honest and open. That I allowed them to be afraid and vulnerable without judgment or pressure sales techniques. I hope my opponents feel affirmed by me.

This is what I think it means to campaign Christian-ly. I hope you’ll join me in turning what has been a divisive campaign into a unifying campaign.

Grace and peace.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Write now.

My three-year old, Daniel, woke up at 6 a.m. this morning. That happens to be the middle of my reading/reflection/writing time. He wanted to watch Disney Junior. I turned on the TV and turned to go back upstairs to my writing corner. He... Continue →