A bad case of the Mondays

One of my all-time favorite movies is ‘Office Space,’ which coined the phrase: “A bad case of the Mondays.”

Evidence supports the belief that Mondays are the worst day of the week for most people.

The research shows that two things combine to make Monday seem so awful to most people. The first is how deeply most people dislike their jobs. For example, only a fraction of Americans report job satisfaction or workplace engagement.

The second is that Monday doesn’t represent a beginning to most people; it represents an end: An end to the family, freedom, and fun of Friday through Sunday night.

A third bonus reason: Human beings are creatures of pattern and routine. Any break in the rhythm of life has negative effects on our bodies and minds. Since most people eat rather poorly, relax some of their daily routines, and sleep a lot more on weekends, Monday jolts the system. The body really does feel worse on Monday if you indulge all weekend.

So, the evidence shows that if you really hate Monday so much, it’s not Monday; it’s you. Take responsibility for designing your own life so that Monday doesn’t seem so bad. God has given you this gift, so you only have yourself to blame if you choose to not use it.

I love Mondays. I love my job. I’ve designed my life to put my family and friends first in my life every day. I’ve worked to keep eating, exercise, and sleep patterns consistent on weekdays and weekends. On Sunday afternoon, I start to anticipate Monday. God has given me my life! I’m not going to waste it: a) choosing to be negative, or b) choosing to let someone else (a boss, a coworker, someone who cuts me off in traffic) dictate my attitude and outlook. I’ll give a lot to anyone who asks, but one thing I will not give is my power to choose my attitude and to design my own life. These are God-given pearls that I would never throw before swine (Gospel of Matthew 7.6).

This has not always been true about me.

I recall the days–not that long ago–when the clouds of dread began to gather every Sunday afternoon. I got a feeling in the pit of my stomach that was the kind of feeling I get before going in for a medical procedure.

I did several things to change that. Some I already mentioned above. I started my own business to do the work that is most important to me and that uses my strengths. I changed my eating, exercise, and sleeping habits. I designed my days–all of my days–around family time.

Finally, I began singing this song to myself and to my son every morning:

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
His mercies never come to an end.
They are new every morning.
Great is Thy faithfulness.
The LORD is my portion, says my soul.
Therefore I will hope in him.
(Book of Lamentations 3.22-24).

Death and difficulty may be our fate as human beings on this earth, but love and mercy are our destiny. This little song from one of the saddest books of the Bible is my daily reminder that God’s love is steadfast–it never stops. God’s mercy is always out in front of me, always a step ahead. Together, love and mercy are new every morning–especially Monday morning! God’s faithfulness is ever present to me–at the office, in seemingly pointless meetings, in traffic.

The best part? We tend to feel like we’re fighting every day just to get a few scraps. Just to make ends meet.

But when I sing this song every morning, these ancient words remind me that the LORD himself is my portion. He who made and fills the whole universe is my portion. Everything I need and want already belongs to me because the LORD has made himself to belong to me forever.

Why fight for scraps?

Why succumb to a bad case of the Mondays?

If Lamentations 2.22-24 is true, then the only feeling that makes sense on Monday morning or any other time of the week is hope.

I believe this and I live it and it’s why I haven’t had a “bad case of the Mondays” in a long time.

These words are for you today. Whether you believe them is up to you.

That’s God’s gift to you.

Will you receive it?

Happy Monday!

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

The doctor said I have mild anxiety and depression

Photo by Richard Stachmann on Unsplash Annual physicals are not what they used to be. One year, in my early 20s, the doctor gave me a 10-minute exam and told me I was the picture of health. “Whatever you’re doing, keep doing it,” he... Continue →